Plugging right along

Another good week of training under my belt. Track workout, tempo run and long run still to come. This week I finally stopped feeling sore and started feeling good. My legs are tired on recovery and easy days to be sure, but they don’t feel super beat up like they were.

That said, I’m starting to think good runs are totally random. Why do I run like a rock star after wine and toast for dinner and terribly when I do everything right? What’s up with that? Or, why can I bust out a good track workout when warmups feel totally terrible? I don’t have any answers, but I’m thinking about it tons!

I’m starting to evaluate my time goal for Eugene. Initially it was just to PR and I’d be over the moon to do that for sure but after running faster than that pace for 14 miles last weekend and feeling really good this week I’m wondering if I’m not aiming high enough. I’m a goal person and need something kind of unreasonable to aim for to give fire to the training. A boston qualifier seems completely unreasonable but 3:45 seems possible. Not probable, but possible. I don’t know.

Yesterday’s tempo run was awesome. All my splits (3.5 miles worth} were in the 7:45 range which is an improvement for sure. The best part is that it didn’t feel particularly bad or difficult. It felt pretty good in fact. Could have something to do with the fact that it was 4:45 am and I was out of it, but still… I’m progressing.

We’re running a really hilly long run tomorrow which will be good for me I know but that doesn’t mean I’m excited…

This concludes this very unfocused post.

One response to “Plugging right along

  1. The post can be unfocused as long as your running is in focus =)
    Yes, aim for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars!
    3:45 is entirely possible for you. If you get good weather, maybe even a 3:40!

Leave a Reply

