Mile Repeats

I hate mile repeats. I know they’re good for me, especially while marathon training and I know they’re really efficient but that doesn’t mean I like them.  Because I don’t! I had to juggle my schedule around this week because it was weird {I was on TV tuesday, you can watch here http://www.kcra.com/video/26695166/detail.html} so I didn’t do them unitl yesterday.

I felt slept through my alarm and felt just awful when I woke up and did all kinds of mental gymnastics and came up wtih all kinds of excuses about why I totally didn’t have to do them. But then I remembered I have a marathon on the books and sucked it up.

Shockingly I had the fastest set of 3 mile repeats I’ve ever done. All in the 7:2X range and no barfing! It didn’t even feel that bad. I was working hard, but it didn’t feel like I was going to die or anything. Pretty amazing. I know I keep saying this, and I don’t know why I’m so amazed by it, but speed work actually, you know, works.

I’m happy that training is going well and that the work is paying off. I can tell I’m working hard and pushing my body since I’m constantly on th e verge of sore and tired and can’t stop eating.

I’m also figuring out the difference between a mental limit and a physical limit. I’m finding that I’m more able to push past what I think are physical limits by really tuning in to what’s going on in my body and calming myself down. And good workouts bring confidence and confidence gives me the push to try for new heights again and again.

I’m excited to see where all this training is going and to put it into practice. The thought of PRing totally scares me if I’m honest because I know how much it’s going to hurt and the kind of effort required to get there, but at the same time I feel really confident that I’m in a place to make it happen.

2 responses to “Mile Repeats

  1. Nice repeats! I am so mentally challenged. especially on the mill these days. Blech.

  2. Mile repeats are mentally hard for me too. It’s a long time to push yourself.

Leave a Reply

