Training Hunger!

As runners I think we all struggle with nutrition– too much means weight gain and slowing down, too little means not enough fuel to get through those tough miles and depleted glycogen stores that result in the dreaded bonk. Lately I’ve been noticing that since I’ve backed off my training from its crazy peak in March that I. Am. Starving. I’m at somewhere in the neighborhood of 45 miles per week with 2-3 days of yoga, plus I ride my bike to and from work which is about 1/2 hour of (extremely) light riding. More than 45 miles per week and I’m just a mess of constant nausea and depleted appetite but the 40-45 range seems to really kick my hunger mechanism into high gear. I am particularly hungry on the days I do intervals. Tempo and long runs make me feel sick but intervals make me hungry!

Personally, I like to eat pretty healthy. I eat a balanced diet with a TON of fruits and veggies (seriously probably 8 servings a day) but I’m having trouble getting enough carbs by sticking to whole-grain and fruit sources. So yesterday I wrote down everything I ate and analyzed it and yeah… much like Bob told his team on the Biggest Loser, I think I need to up it! What do you think?

Tuesday (65 mins easy running and 15 mins of core work)
2/3 cup oatmeal with 1/2 cup soymilk and 1 tsp of brown sugar, coffee
1 0% fage greek yogurt with 1 cup strawberries, coffee
salad with bell pepper, onion, 1/4 cup brown rice, tomato and carrot
1 serving whole-wheat pretzels, small handful of almonds
apple
Salad (all veggies, about 2 cups)
4 oz tri tip
1 piece sourdough bread
1/2 cup brown rice
small slice of cake

I think this is probably not eno0ugh food. And, dinner was a total abberation for me. It was my brother’s birthday and under normal circumstances I don’t rock the cake and red meat on a random Tuesday. Normal dinner would probably be salad with chicken or maybe whole wheat pasta with veggies. I felt decently full (I guess) at the end of the day but woke up starving and got hungry about once per hour. I’m at “athlete” body composition last time I got tested and I really don’t want to gain, but I also want to improve and don’t want my body to go into starvation!

I’ll keep you all posted on how it goes… I’m going to work on upping my carb content and on upping overall calories, too.

3 responses to “Training Hunger!

  1. I did a 2 part post on training hunger a couple months ago… I am also ALWAYS hungry!!!! Right now its SO HARD being in taper, I think I feel hungrier than usual, but with the low mileage right now I know I need to watch it. GAH. At least next week I know I can carb load 🙂

    • Totally! I read your posts– made me feel better about what my office calls the “runner tape worm.” I feel you on the taper thing– it always makes me a little nutty and for some reason I crave the worst foods while I’m tapering!

  2. Pingback: Food Friday Snacks Edition « Running Commentaries

Leave a Reply

