Food Friday: Asian (con)fusion

I’ve had a hankering for some Filipino food, but for various reasons decided not to make a traditional Filipino dish. So I cooked some Chinese broccoli  and scallions with garlic, soy sauce, ginger, tamarind concentrate, and vinegar (nod to Filipino cooking) and topped it with brown rice and sardines. Yes, sardines. Don’t judge me! They were packed in the sauce used in caldereta, the Filipino dish I’ve been craving, and they were good, by God!

I think that my mission in life (besides making people love Jonathan Swift) is to find a way to make Filipino dishes just a touch healthier so I can have them more often, and I’m sure I’ll be posting about some of my cooking experiments in the future.

Leave a Reply

