Food Friday: Roasted Tomatoes with Basil and Olive Oil

Today’s Food Friday will highlight my favorite pre-long run and hard work out meal: Roasted tomatoes with basil and olive oil over whole wheat pasta. There’s a great balance of fats, carbs and protein (if you add chicken or sausage, both of which I highly recommend) and it’s easy to digest. Plus, delicious!

Ingredients:
1 cup of mini tomatoes
handful of basil
2 garlic cloves
kosher salt
pepper
1/4 cup olive oil
balsamic vinegar (if you want)
barillia plus penne pasta
turkey sausage or chicken

Process:
Pre heat your oven to 350. Half the mini tomatoes and slice your garlic in to thin strips. Grab a roasting pan or cookie sheet. Put the tomatoes, olive oil, salt pepper and garlic in a bowl and toss it to coat evenly. Spread it out on the cookie sheet or roasting pan and stick it in the oven for 20 minutes or until the tomatoes look roasty and the garlic starts to brown. If you’re going to, heat up/cook up your meat. Meanwhile, boil water and cook the pasta as directed. Barilla Plus is fantastic because its whole grain and has quite a bit of protein. Once the pasta is ready, pull the tomato mixture out of the oven and toss it with the pasta. If you’re lucky and able to eat cheese (I’m allergic. I know. Not cool.) it would probably taste great with some parmesan. Toss in the basil and enjoy!! Typically I throw together a salad for the side to up the veggie content and if I’m not racing in the morning, a glass of wine obviously.  Also, not to brag, but I totally grew that basil myself 🙂 Not a revolutionary recipe by any means, but pretty yummy.

Delicious!

Delicious!

Running update:
Yesterday I ran 2 easy, 5×1 mile at threshold pace, 2 easy. I felt great and was fairly consistent (7:40 pace). I was happy with how it went (even though I had to get up at 4:45 to get ‘er done) and didn’t feel like the workout took a ton out of me.

I’m hoping to get some good training in this weekend but it’s supposed to be 105 (!!!!) both Saturday and Sunday AND I have a ton of (fun but busy) activities planned. I suppose for my long run I’ll just get up really early on Saturday…. and run with an ice vest or something. I actually really like the heat, but my body is just not acclimated to it yet.

All in all, I ran 51 miles this week– not bad considering I’m not really training for any specific event!

Leave a Reply

