Running Playlist

Well, since Rachel is up in Alaska looking at ice (seriously, she twittered (tweeted?) that this morning) I figured I’d take her silence as an opportunity to share some of my favorite running songs. I run with a tiny ipod shuffle since I learned the hard way that running with an iphone when you’re a sweaty runner is a bad, bad idea. Especially if you get tired of holding it and stick it in your sports bra. Try explaining THAT to your boss…

Anyway, I have a random mix on my shuffle since  I like mellow music during easy days and ghetto, fast and/or pop music for speed work. And so, without further adieu, I present to you a couple playlists:

Easy Day:
“Come on Get Higher” Matt Nathanson (kinda mellow, love the beat, love this dude. Found him on Pandora)
“Goodnight and Go” Imogean Heap (Imogean’s a good time)
“Breathless” Corrs (Sometimes when I run, I feel breathless!)
“Free and Easy” Dierks Bentley (Reminds me to relax)
“Stolen” Dashboard Confessional (When I feel sappy)
“Crash” Dave Matthews Band (Classic. Takes me back to living in the dorms!)
“Blowers Daughter” Damien Rice (Kinda slow, but I heart Damien)
“Quelqu’un m’a dit” Carla Bruni (The First Lady of France!)

Speed Time!
(Please, no mocking!)
“Gives you Hell” All American Rejects (Discovered this during a breakup which is obviously genius)
“Stronger” Kanye West (Literally had this on repeat the last 10k of CIM)
“Poker Face” Lady Gaga (Love  her)
“Canned Heat” Jamiroquai (Does not need explaining– it’s awesome)
“UCLA Fight Song” (Bruins don’t quit)
“In da Club” 50 Cent (Great beat…)
“Crazy” Gnarls Barkley (Running IS crazy!)
“Clumsy” Fergie (This was awesome when I was running with this one guy… and then threw up on him… story later)
“My Life Would Suck Without You” Kelly Clarkson (Love all Kelly but this is on top right now)
“Chariots of Fire” (Again, no explanation necessary)
“Lose Yourself” Eminem (This is for “emergencies only” so it doesn’t lose its power, but I heart it for intervals)
“Wake me up before you go go” Wham! (Orange, mocha frapuccino!!)
“Love Song” Sara Bareilles (She’s also a Bruin, and this song makes me feel feisty)
“Sexy Back” Justin Timberlake (Running brings it back, right?)

I have a lot more on my little shuffle than this, but those are my favs right now. Ran a quick 60 mins by the river this morning. I felt ok– my arch still feels like garbage but after some pretty religious icing and NSAID-taking, it’s feeling better. I’m pretty sure it’s plantar fascitis, but I found a knot the size of Texas in my calf that I think it causing it. So, every chance I get I’m rubbing that thing out since my ART doc can’t get me in for 10 days!!

2 responses to “Running Playlist

  1. I use the TriggerPoint kit, so I’m not sure how to do it with the foam roller, but if you have a tennis ball that you can rub on those knots it might help. Also stretch your soleus a lot.

Leave a Reply

