Running in Alaska

You know the New Balance commercial where a guy sitting on a park bench is jealous of all the runners he sees?

That’s how I felt when I was in Anchorage last week. The city has trails all over the place (more than a 120 miles), and the runners were definitely out and about since Alaska now has 20 hours of sunlight a day, but because of my schedule I could only hit the trails one day! Alas! …at least I got to catch up on my Sports Center when I had to use the hotel treadmill, so it’s all good.

The day before I left, I went to Earthquake Park on the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail, and let us just say that it beat the hell out of running in my parking lot or on campus.

Hey, where's the coast?

There it is. And theres the city.

There it is. And there's the city.

There were mile markers and the trail was clean and in great shape.

There were mile markers and the trail was clean and in great shape.

One of the cool things about this trail and Alaska in general is that there’s danger or wild animals at every turn. My sister-in-law (who lives there) tells me that there’s  debate about whether people on the trail should be allowed to shoot bears. Wow. I probably should have thought about bears before heading out onto a more secluded trail, but whatever. All’s well that ends well!

Dangerous waters and mud flats is my middle name

Dangerous waters and mud flats is my middle name

Check out the moose!

Check out the moose!

But perhaps cooler than all this was the outdoor track we saw a few days before at the Air Force base. It may have a clock, but it does have sweet aircraft and mountains in the background.

I want a track like this in my backyard

I want a track like this in my backyard

Anchorage is kind of a runner’s dream. Ok, maybe just from April through September. Anyways, if you ever have the opportunity to go there, don’t be lame like me and only get out there once, especially if there’s 20 hours of sunlight!

One response to “Running in Alaska

  1. Very cool pictures! Yeah, you’re lame for not running when you were there! Haha, j/k!

Leave a Reply

