Happy Fourth of July Weekend!

Just a little weekend update for you… I headed out to the San Joaquin Delta this weekend for a little camping, wakeboarding and eating and drinking with about 35-45 friends. I have friends with a house on the river and every year you’re invited to “bring a tent, some food and drinks and get ready to have fun!” And we did! For those of you not familiar with the delta it is the place where the San Joaquin and Sacramento rivers begin to dump into the San Francisco Bay. It is extremely ecologically fragile and the subject of a lot of political chatter due to its usefulness for irrigation, sensitive fish populations and biological diversity. It’s also a good place to hang out. It kinds of reminds me of the south– lots of farmland with meandering streams and farmhouses sprinkled in.

Saturday morning I got up before pretty much everyone (if my body would let me sleep past 7 some day that would be great…) and decided to get my long run over with. I ended up running 14 miles and aside from the 20-30mph winds (hi, miserable) felt really good. My last mile was actually my fastest and I felt like if I’d taken another gu I could have kept going. I was joined for 3 of my middle miles by one of the girls with us who claimed to be a “slow” runner. It was very fun to encourage her and push her to do her best to run beyond what she thought she could. So often I’m the runner trying to hang with the big guns and it was soooo fun to help her run her fastest 3 miles ever– good job! There wasn’t much special about my long run… it was great to run in a new place where I don’t know every single twist and turn and have some alone time away from the group.

Returning from the long run was kind of funny– everyone thought I was NUTS for running 14 miles for basically no reason. I will say, though, that returning from a long run to a buffet of breakfast quiche, toast, fresh cut fruit, coffee and water is pretty much the best thing ever.

This morning I got up and ran for 60 minutes easy which ended up being 7 miles. During this run I had a moment of just pure joy. I know, it sounds cheesy but the sun was shining, the wind had died down for a VERY brief moment, my feet were moving pretty quickly, I had the river on one side and Mt. Diablo in front of me and I just felt completely free. Like running was what I was created to do. I thought to myself, “this is why I run. It isn’t about splits, pacing, workouts, races or chasing a standard or goal I’ve set for myself but it’s about feeling completely free and strong and capable of anything. It’s about being up before the rest of your friends, digging in and getting your work done and loving it.” I don’t know what it was, but I just felt so grateful to be out there.

The rest of the weekend was a hodgepodge of yummy food, wakeboarding and wake surfing, reading, lounging, laying out and enjoying my friends. It was exactly what the doctor ordered and I’m so sad it’s over!!

Last week I ran 50 miles (so much for NOT running high mileage before marathon training…) so I’m going to try and take it easy-ish this week. My legs feel good, but I don’t want to push my luck. I also need to get back on track with some good eating. Maybe it was being in my bathing suit all weekend, but there are some bumps and bulges that I’m not interested in staying around. No more random cookies! No more chocolate chips out of the bag (my secret shame) and no more eating because I’m bored!

Photos from the weekend:

n
Delta mansion

Delta mansion

This is my "no shower in 3 days, been running for an hour, self-portrait" look.

This is my "no shower in 3 days, been running for an hour, self-portrait" look.

You're supposed to be able to see Mt. Diablo here. You can't.

You're supposed to be able to see Mt. Diablo here. You can't.

Just me and the open road

Just me and the open road


3 responses to “Happy Fourth of July Weekend!

  1. sounds like a funnnn weekend! great job getting out there and running even while camping 🙂 not sure if I could do that haha. nice job on 50 miles too! I am hoping to get there this week 🙂

  2. Sounds great! I always wake up before everyone too. It’s nice because I can do my run, but bad because I’m tired and lame later.

  3. Wow, a 50 miler week – very impressive! I haven’t had one of those in quite a long time.

Leave a Reply

