What a great running weekend!

The unseasonably beautiful temperatures have continued here in Sacramento and I am taking full advantage! It’s amazing to get a full summer of training in with zero incidents of heat-induced dizziness, funky feelings or other problems. Saturday I woke up and just felt good. I mentioned Friday that my long run plans were somewhat in the air and I figured I’d go for 15 miles since it was beautiful and I was in the mood for a challenge.

I hit the bike trail and ran 15 miles with my 1/2 mile splits only varying by 2 seconds the entire time save for the last mile (I’ll get to this in a second). I took a gu at mile 8 and a little bit of water here and there, but overall felt good. I probably should have taken a 2nd gu, but I was just not in the mood. I hate gu. Anyway, it was a great long run (about 8:40 pace) and a fabulous confidence booster. I’ve decided that from now on, I want to finish my long runs at my threshold pace. I don’t know why, but it just feels good psychologically to run that last mile at a fast pace. So, my splits were really more like 8:44 pace with the last mile at a 7:50 and the last half-mile at 7:20.

In other news, I was inspired by the Chic Runner to give spandex shorts another try. You guys, I’m converted. I’ve been wearing Nike Tempo shorts forever, and I still love them but my little spandex are just my favorite thing. Sure, they show a lot. Sure, I’m not fast enough to back up the speedy outfit, but it is just so comfortable. I’m just saying. Give it a shot.

Today I joined my running group for an “easy 8” and got sucked in to running faster than I probably should have. I went out easy, but got caught by the lead group of guys and wanted to see how long I could hang. The answer was about 2 miles, but I felt like I could actually hold a conversation running at their pace (about 8:00 even) and it wasn’t frying my legs. Plus, I felt like a badass running with the fast guys. Even though they were running easy. And I was running hardish. One of them even commented to me that I “had gotten so fast lately and was looking good.” I really respect this particular runner and appreciated the encouragement. It’s nice to know that all those hours at the track and on the trail aren’t going unnoticed and that my work is paying off. I finished with about an 8:40 pace with the last 1/2 mile at 7:20 pace.  Plus, it was fun.

Saturday night I had the pleasure of seeing Death Cab for Cutie at the Greek theater in Berkeley. It was gorgeous. Below is a photo of the double rainbow that popped out during the show! My view was (left to right) double rainbow, Cal clock tower, bay, golden gate bridge. I love California. I’m never leaving. It was stunning.

GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!

GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!


3 responses to “What a great running weekend!

  1. Great runs!!! I love concerts at the Greek. What an awesome weekend overall. 🙂

  2. Definitely a great weekend. My long runs are never very consistent in pace if I run near my house–too many hills.

  3. awesome long run and weekend!! i dont think i could ever convert to spandex 🙂

Leave a Reply

