Hit with the Humble Stick

My first week of training is NOT going so well. In the last 3 days I’ve: gone on the most miserable run I think I’ve ever endured, been really, really sore for no apparent reason, face planted on my run and been really slow. Like, almost can’t get up to my easy pace kind of slow. I’ve been totally and completely hit with the humble stick. If I didn’t respect the marathon distance and what I’m trying to do before, I sure do now. Oh and my headphones broke so my music sounds like it’s underwater. Good times.

Yesterday I attempted my first “double running day” in a long time. It was difficult and my muscle soreness (let’s review, for no apparent reason) made it sorta painful but it was actually not as bad as I thought. According to my hero Jack, it is much less stressful on your body to “run twice per day most days of the week rather than extend your runs longer and longer. even though it takes more time out of your day, you’ll recover more quickly.” I don’t ever run in the evenings (waaaaay too hot and I have standing commitments 3 nights out of the work week) and the park where I run is SO different at night. There were people out playing games, golf, heading to the zoo, etc. And way more cars. It was like running in a whole different place! I’ve also basically determined that I’ll be wearing nothing but running clothes between now and December. I even contemplated sleeping in them but that is disgusting so I didn’t.

I’m also back tracking my calories just to make sure I’m putting enough fuel in the tank and if I believe the Daily Plate’s recommendation I need to up things by about 1,000 calories per day. Uh, that’s a lot of food. Like, 2 extra meals. So I’m adding in a couple of more snacks and upping my portion sizes. A couple FYIs on the food front– 1. The Trader Joe’s protein powder is NASTY and will give you a stomach ache. Don’t eat it. 2. Peanut butter in the oatmeal is not good. It’s gross. 3. Blueberries and peaches are rocking my world. LOVE summer fruit. It’s outrageous.

Let’s hope things turn around soon! Oh, and I’ve had a few people ask me how I went from a back of the packer to someone who can talk about a 3:40 marathon without being totally delusional. I’ll get to that soon, I promise. Let’s just say that it took a village, a lot of determination and some time.

2 responses to “Hit with the Humble Stick

  1. I felt really awful at the beginning of this training cycle. I think it takes a little time to get used to the mileage again. Don’t worry about your times right now and don’t get frustrated!

    Also, I really enjoyed your last post. Can’t believe how far you’ve come in 2 years! Amazing!

    I’m going to check out the Daily Plate and see if it helps me.

  2. we all have bad training weeks, at least yours is the first week!! it will come back 🙂

    running in the evenings is SO different!!

Leave a Reply

