I’m soooooooore.

I forgot how sore long runs make me. It’s been 2 years since I’ve run more than 16 miles and the combo of the distance and the hills kicked my butt. My calves are so sore it’s insane. They actually hurt to the touch. And I rolled them! For a long time! They shouldn’t be this sore! But they are. Luckily everything else feels fine. I mean, my legs were tired this morning but there’s a difference between  a niggle that warms up and feels ok once you move and being injured. I feel sore, not injured.

Oh, also. I’d like to share a tip with the cheap runners out there. I refuse to buy “The Stick” because I’m so not paying $30 for what is basically a PVC pipe with handles. Sorry, not happening. I have a friend that was an athletic trainer at UCLA and she suggested I go into my baking supplies drawer and use my rolling pin instead. And it works like a dream. So if you’re sore and need to get deeper than the foam roller will go, pull out the rolling pin and go to town 🙂

I also forgot to mention that I had coffee with my friend/coach/buddy Alberto (ok not his real name but I go back and forth between calling him Alberto (as in Salazar) and Jack (as in Daniels) because I think I’m so funny) yesterday to talk about training. Alberto is a 2:30 marathoner and generally awesome runner. It was just the most encouraging conversation EVER about my training. He confirmed that I seem to be doing things correctly, that my training sounds pretty solid and that I just might be able to do this thing. And it reminded me that (and this is in life, too not just running) we really need to take the time to stop and encourage each other.

It didn’t take much– just 45 minutes over coffee but I walked away thinking, “dang. I’ve got this. I have work to do, but I’m doing it right.” And he didn’t even really say that much. So, at the risk of sounding like a total cheeseball, take a minute today and remind someone of something they’re doing well. Your words are important and you could propel someone forward! It also made me grateful for the “pay it forward” aspect of running. Alberto tells me what to do, I do it. I get the respect of runners who aren’t as focused as me, I tell them what to do, they do it. They get faster and tell their friends… you get the picture. So that’s your other assignment– tell a new runner what to do and encourage them to make goals they think they can’t reach but you know they can 🙂

I ran 7 recovery miles this morning that were actually kind of frustrating. I ran a route that has a lot of stoplights (which is obviously my bad) and ended up hitting red on all of them. And I felt pretty slow (although now that I look I really wasn’t). And then I had to wait for a train. I was going to run 9 but I was too sore and tired so I’ll do that when I go home tonight. And maybe do some strength training. But maybe not. We’ll see how ambitious I am.

One response to “I’m soooooooore.

  1. I hate stopping at intersections! Good luck on your 63 mile week and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

