Now I know why elite athletes nap so much

With my 64 mile week pretty much under my belt I can say with authority that I now know why every interview I’ve ever read with Kara Goucher and Deena Kastor or other elite athlete includes at least a paragraph on their daily napping or sleep schedules. I totally get it. I. Am. Exhausted. I don’t feel like the wheels are coming off, I’m in danger of getting injured or like I can’t do this, but for the love of all that is good and holy, I am tired. I actually drove home from work today during lunch to power nap. And I’m sooooo hungry. So hungry, in fact, that during my second run of the day on Tuesday I had to stop halfway, go back to my car and eat a Clif Bar because I felt like I was going to pass out.

Let’s review what I ate yesterday to give you an idea of my hunger pains:
Pre run: English muffin with a lil PB
Post run: 3/4 cups oatmeal with soymilk and fruit
10:30 am: Single-serving of Fage and 1/2 cup granola, nectarine
Noon: Turkey sandwich on whole wheat, handful of office pretzels
1:30pm: Another handful of pretzels
3:3pm: Apple and almonds, handful of granola
5:00pm: 1/2 Luna Bar, more pretzels haha
6:30 pm: about 2 servings of white bean, tomato, basil, spinach pasta and some salad
8:30pm Frozen yogurt (6 ounces?)
10:00pm: other 1/2 of the Luna bar

And you guys? I was NOT FULL when I went to bed. I woke up really hungry. So I guess my body is telling me to eat more? Which is nuts– that is so much food. I’m actually so hungry that it’s a burden– I’m constantly thinking about when my next snack will be, how long until it’s reasonable to eat again… I feel like a 13 year old boy. Without the acne and raging hormones though. Oh and I can talk to girls. I’ve also been averaging about 9 hours of sleep per night but I think next week (another 64 miler) I’m going to try and budget my time for 10. Sounds like a lot, but I think I need it!

Overall though, I’m pleased with this week. My paces have been spot on and although I’ve been tired I managed to fit in yoga and strength training! I hit the track for 7×800 this morning despite my best efforts to find a reason not to go, and was pleased that I averaged around a 3:40 pace for my intervals. That’ll work. Especially given how sore and tired I felt this morning.  Funny story– I was getting really hot and I was becoming really annoyed with my shirt and it was literally just me and the maintenance guy, so I took it off and threw it on the infield of the track. The maintenance guy was picking up trash and tried to take my shirt! I had to stop him to avoid running down a busy street in just my sports bra and shorts. It was hilarious. But don’t worry, no indecent exposure over here.

So even though I feel like a narcoleptic monster that can’t stop eating, things are going well.  I’ve even managed to hit up some hills, go me! We’ll see how long this enthusiasm lasts.

4 responses to “Now I know why elite athletes nap so much

  1. WOWZA! That is such crazy-high mileage. Right now, 30 mile weeks feel like a lot for me and make me really, really tired.

    Do you do double-days to fit all that mileage in? Or do you just log fairly long runs every day??

    • Amber I built up to that kind of mileage over about a year. When I started hitting the 30s I was really tired, too. It just takes time. I mostly do double days. 6-8 in the morning 3-5 in the afternoon unless I go to the track then with warm ups and everything it totals around 9 and I take the afternoon off. Apparently doubles are easier on your body than a bunch of fairly long runs.

  2. Awesome! I am sleep deprived as well. No wonder I’m sick…sigh…

  3. I’m so tired and hungry too. It makes me cranky sometimes.

Leave a Reply

