What does a girl running 70 miles per week eat?

Well, I’ll show you. I thought I’d be a food blogger for a couple of days and photograph everything I’m eating and lay it all out there. I’m always curious what/how other runners eat, particularly those who run fairly high mileage and train hard, so I thought I’d throw it out there. A few things first, though. First of all, I used my iPhone camera and it’s a piece of crap so the photos aren’t awesome. Second of all, I didn’t try to make my food pretty so sorry about that. Finally, being a food blogger is hard! I don’t know how the people who do this all the time do it!

Monday (9 mile run in the morning, 4 mile run before dinner, 19 on Sunday)

I started Monday with a 9 mile run. Embarrassingly I was so hungry at 3am that apparently I ate a Luna Bar in my sleep so I just had some coffee before I went running. I included the 19 miles the day before because I was feeling so junky all day, I don’t think I quite ate enough… After my run I ate my normal breakfast:

2/3 cup of oats, 1/2 cup soymilk, cinnamon, dried cranberries (maybe 1/8 cup), cinnamon, teaspoon of brown sugar, 1/2 cup of water

2/3 cup of oats, 1/2 cup soymilk, cinnamon, dried cranberries (maybe 1/8 cup), dash of salt, teaspoon of brown sugar, 1/2 cup of water. Oh and coffee. Lots of coffee.

This usually keeps me full for about an hour. Then I suffer and wait for it to be 10:30 so I can have a snack. I start eating my lunch at 10:30 and eat it slowly over the work day. Here are the contents of lunch:

Non-fat greek yogurt, turkey sandwich (whole wheat bread, 2 slices turkey, lettuce and tomato), 1/3 cup granola, 15 almonds, banana and apple

Non-fat greek yogurt, turkey sandwich (whole wheat bread, 2 slices turkey, lettuce and tomato), 1/3 cup granola, 15 almonds, banana and apple

This is pretty much what I eat every day of my life and have for years. I switch up the fruit depending on what’s in season and if I’m not running much I strike the granola and put berries in the yogurt instead, but this is standard. Sometimes I’ll do a Flat Out wrap instead of bread if I’m not running a lot, but they aren’t enough calories right now. I eat an apple every, single day. I love them. Can’t get enough. I also tend to snack on these oh, 3-4 times per day:

My vice. Imagine this x 3

My vice. Imagine this x 3

I forgot to photograph it, but I got so hungry around 3:30 that I stoke a “Think Thin” bar from my boss’ desk. It was disgusting, but I ate about half… I also drank 3-4 cups of tea and a bunch of water all day. Then, I got home around 6:30 and ran 4 more miles. I ate the banana around 5 which gave me some good energy for run #2.

Then, DINNER!

Sesame oil (just a bit), brocolli, carrots, mixed stir fry veggies from Trader Joes, red bell pepper

Sesame oil (just a bit), chicken, brocolli, carrots, mixed stir fry veggies from Trader Joes, garlic, ginger, salt, pepper, siracha, red bell pepper (oh and this was for 2 people, so cut it in half)

So I started with a mess of veggies then added brown rice and an egg and dinner was this:

Yum! I had probably another 1/4 bowl

Yum! I had probably another 1/4 bowl

I actually felt full after dinner which is sometimes hard to achieve. I settled in, watched How I Met Your Mother and then thought to myself, “I have enough time before Gossip Girl to get fro yo.” So I did. I forgot to take a photo of that but it was about 6 ounces of peanut butter yogurt with a little bit of hot fudge, sprinkles and some peanut butter cups. But not a lot. The smallest cup they have was about 1/2 full. Oh and I think I ate a couple chocolate chips out of my freezer before bed. Because that’s how I roll. What? They’re GOOD.

So there you go. That’s what I eat. According to my tracker I ate roughly 2000 calories. 21% from fat, 60% from carbs (probably a little low) and 20% protein (probably a little high). I got 44 grams of fat (only 10 saturated), 282 grams of carbs and 93 grams of protein. Oh and 29 grams of fiber. I’d say that’s about right on. I could have eaten a little more, but to be honest I didn’t feel hungry at the end of the day and I’m not going to eat just to eat. I did wake up hungry today, but that’s normal. This is a very typical day for me for eating. I didn’t switch anything up because I knew it would be in the spotlight and I’m kind of a creature of habit, so  I think it’s pretty spot on.

I’ll try and do this again on Wednesday (I’ll do a long, hard workout in the morning on Wed so I’ll switch it up a bit) if it’s interesting. If it’s not interesting I’ll give it a rest!

9 responses to “What does a girl running 70 miles per week eat?

  1. I have to say, the pics were not bad at all! 🙂 And kudos to you for trying to food blog- that has to be stressful!
    I laughed so hard about the luna bar in bed! That is awesome and so hardcore! But I think you had said that Sunday your eating was way off with all the puking.
    I eat the SAME thing everyday, too! Right now though, I am trying to cut down on the PB so I am trying to figure out a new breakfast. But I do either a turkey sammy and a yogurt or some sort of frozen dinner from TJ’s and tons of fruit! Pear, apple, banna, grapes. Ha!
    You’re right, it’s fun to compare food notes with other runners! Keep up the good work! 🙂

  2. HOLY MOLEY – you’re really only eating 2,000 calories a day and running 13 miles??

    I guess everyone’s different, but to maintain my weight I usually eat 2,000 calories on a NORMAL day with a run of less than 6 miles. Anything over 6 miles I’m usually upping my calories to 2,200-2,700 depending on how far I run.

    Are you losing weight only eating this much??

    PS: I hope this comment doesn’t sound rude or judgemental, I’m just REALLY interested in nutrition and stuff and that just seems like not very many calories to eat when you ran 13 miles!!

    • Amber-
      You’re not judgy at all! I wouldn’t put it all out there if I minded people commenting! You know, I forgot to count the fro yo so I was probably more like 2200 range but I go based on hunger and I didn’t feel hungry at the end of the day. I am losing a little bit of weight eating this much, but not a ton. I was hungry when I woke up, so I ate 🙂 Plus, the double days keep my hunger down since I usually eat dinner right after my 2nd run.

  3. PPS: I’m also super interested in what other runners eat so I really enjoyed this post, and being a food blogger IS hard! I don’t know how they remember to take a pic of everything they eat!! Haha

  4. I am a creature of habit most days too. The people at trader joes most likely know what I’m going to buy before I step up to the register because it’s THE SAME THING everytime. No joke.
    Is that plain greek yogurt or flavored? I like the FAGE 0% with some splenda or stevia and I mix my cereal/granola into it …

  5. haha i eat the same thing every. single. day. too 🙂 its funny – makes chris insane!

    i love love love that TJs stir fry mix – its the best!

    i think we eat pretty similar, although i think i eat more! hehe… i usually eat enough to net 1500-1800 calories… so if i am running 12 miles during the day i will eat 2800-3000 total for the day… sometimes 🙂 i tend to eat a lot of nuts though that increases the calories pretty easily on those days.

    yayyy i am going to do this too once i start running the higher miles again… CANT WAIT i already miss them 🙂

  6. Pingback: Q&A Answer Post « Running Commentaries

  7. Hmm.. I guess you could have eaten more. I eat around 2000 on 6-8 miler days. Although I walk everyday to, adding another 4 miles everyday.

Leave a Reply

