Wrapping up the week…

Well, this week I was in 5 California cities, traveled by trains, planes and automobile and still managed to get my training in. Yeah! I ran 63 miles which is 7 more than I was supposed to (more on this later) and even fit in most of my quality session. I feel like my commitment to the race and to this sport was really tested this week but that I passed.

After 7 miles on the treadmill in an 82 degree hotel room I wasn’t really in the mood to run my quality session (hour easy, 6×5 mins 8k pace, 2 miles easy) on the treadmill. SoI headed out to a trail suggested by Aron to get ‘er done. I was tired and had been eating strangely, but felt really good during my hour easy and first 4 repeats. In fact, I had to pull myself back to the correct pace because my legs wanted to go fast! But then after the 4th repeat I ran out of fuel and water. It was like someone flipped a switch and I turned off… not cool. I struggled the final couple of miles (no choice, out and back route!) at easy pace but didn’t feel too guilty about cutting it down. It was a crazy week, I hadn’t slept much and felt like it was time to just listen to the body.

My eating habits weren’t exactly stellar this week and the scale is definitely reflecting that, but I’ve realized that I have to live my life. I say no to crap 90% of the time and a few bad days aren’t going to kill me. That said, we’re getting close enough to the race that I really need to be vigilant from here on out (I say this with frosting on my arms from frosting my mom’s birthday cake).

So about those extra miles… last time I used Jack I felt like I peaked a week before my race and that the taper was too long. Additionally, I felt like I needed a couple more weeks at a higher volume of running. Looking at my training log it’s clear that my body likes running a lot– all my best performances have been weeks I ran a ton. I get stale easily and I don’t want to peak too early. I’m not usually a proponent of modifying a schedule, but I’ve run enough races and know enough about the science behind them to feel ok about changing it up. So I’m waiting another week or 2 to bring my volume down. I hope I don’t regret this, but I talked it over with Jack and he agrees.

I’m running in a 30k race tomorrow. My goal is to run it at marathon pace, but we’ll see how I feel. I’m a little sore and tired but I don’t want that to be an excuse to give less than my best.

Oh and here are some shots from the Healdsburg half 🙂

Look! I'm racing and I'm happy...

Katie, Aron and I

Outkicking some poor guy to the finish

3 responses to “Wrapping up the week…

  1. Awesome mileage while TRAVELING! I know how difficult it can be to get quality runs in on the road. Very impressive!

  2. Whoooo way to chick that guy at the end!!!!

    What an amazing week you’ve had! Can’t to hear how the 30K went!

  3. i don’t like long tapers either. you know yourself & your training/racing abilities best, so i’m sure you’ll be fine.

    nice job getting in your training while traveling! it can certainly suck!

    lol about beating the poor guy, too bad for him.

Leave a Reply

