Last Quality Workout!

WEIRD. I ran my last real quality workout this morning. And I didn’t even really savor it– I just went out there, all business, and got it done. Did what I usually do. Hit snooze, lament the early, cold, dark hour, wake up, make PB toast (ugh this morning I was clearly on drugs and accidentally put in 2 pieces of bread when I meant to do one– didn’t even realize it until they popped up!) and head out the door. It was my favorite running weather this morning– cold, foggy and quiet! I love running by the river in the fog, it makes me feel like I’m in a scary 1920s film noir. Yeah, I’m a dork.

Anyway, I was allowed to skip one of my quality workouts this week since I raced the 10k on Saturday so I happily nixed my least favorite Jack workout and went with the tamer 2 miles easy, 2×10 mins at 10k pace, 35 mins easy. Normally I run up to McKinley Park for tempo runs but I just wasn’t in the mood to fight with all the stoplights between my house and the park. Plus, it was light enough that I figured I’d be safe on the river levee once I got there.

My legs felt pretty good and I blasted through my first tempo mile in 7:36. I should have been at 7:50. Oops. I pulled it back a little bit and finished out the set with a 7:43 average for the 10 minutes. I’ll take that. I recovered and started again and ended up exactly on pace– 7:50. The “easy” parts of these workouts can be kind of deceiving– they’re kind of a grind after 20 minutes at the LT pace but this morning I felt fine.

My right hip/IT band/hamstring are still giving me quite a bit of trouble, but I have one more ART appointment next week so I think it’ll get worked out. Plus, I can still run fast (for me), it just hurts a little. Overall though, I feel good. It’s amazing how much more energy I have– I’m not falling asleep at 7pm and I don’t feel like a zombie during the day. I’m still getting really excited about the race– I don’t want to get too zen like so I lose the adrenaline boost I might otherwise get but I don’t want to waste energy hopping around like a crazy person either.

So yeah, the work is done. Workouts completed (amazingly I did not skip a single run this entire 19 week training cycle, WHOA), race outfit picked out, gu purchased, new arm warmers on the way (I was realistic and bought a 2-pack since I’m incapable of hanging on to them), pasta for the night before the race is in my cupboard… If I’m not ready now, I’ll never get there! I have the normal taper symptoms– I feel fat, out of shape, injured, crazy and I’m bouncing off the walls, but Alberto brings me back to earth every time I freak out so it’s all good.

Finally, Happy Thanksgiving peeps. Enjoy the long weekend!

4 responses to “Last Quality Workout!

  1. nice job on nailing the last quality workout πŸ™‚

    now if we can only get through the next 11 days hehe… it will be here soon! at least we have each other to symapthize with.

    have a great thanksgiving!

  2. Great job on your training! You did amazing not skipping any workouts with a schedule like you had.

    I feel fat, fugly , and broke down! haha but I know all this rest will pay off come CIM πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see you there! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  3. Wow! Not a single skipped workout! You should be proud! And great job on getting the run in – you are sooo ready!
    So funny, I am on my way to pick up my new arm warmers at REI this afternoon! We’re gonna be stylin’!
    Happy Thanksgiving! Good luck tomorrow! πŸ™‚

  4. How come I feel fat, out of shape, injured and crazy when I’m not tapering ??? HAHA! No really, you’ll do great!

    I’m curious about all the running gear you use. I know about the CW-X tights, but I think you should do an enter post about your running wardrobe and your essestials, especially for the winter months πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

