Thanksgiving

Although I’m writing this a few days early, I’m scheduling it to go up on Thanksgiving. I figured I’d take a minute to think about all the running-related things I’m thankful for.

I’m thankful first and foremost that God gave me a body that works, is not prone to injury or sickness and is able to handle the stresses of training for races. My legs, muscles, heart, brain and feet all work and do what I ask of them for the most part.

I’m thankful for my friend JackAlberto– really thankful. He reigns me in when I need it, encourages me when I doubt, sets a great example, tells me to stop being a dork and has more confidence in my abilities than I do sometimes. I don’t think I would have even entertained the idea of a 3:40 if he hadn’t told me it was possible. I’m also thankful for his wife who points out hot guys at races.

I’m thankful for my other runner friends. Especially Aron, Laura, Jenny, Rachel, Allison, Becky and a bunch of others who listen to me talk for hours about the fine and super interesting details of gu, hydration strategies, phantom pains, courses, warm up routines, running outfits, doubts and workouts both good and bad. Sometimes you just have to talk it out and I’m really thankful they never told me to put a cork in it.

I’m thankful that I have the time and money to race as often as I have this year. I have the funds to buy shoes, Nike stuff, gu, race fees, expensive organic food, etc.

I’m thankful that I have a job and coworkers who are supportive of my running– last time I ran CIM I came in the office on Monday to find flowers and cute signs all over the place congratulating me. I still have one of the signs on my wall and it makes me happy every time I see it.

I’m thankful for Jack Daniels Running Formula even on the days where I hate it. Jack’s program has allowed me to improve so much and given me the structure I needed to get through training.

I’m thankful for my supportive family even though I know they think I’m crazy. They always want to hear about my races, long runs and adventures and never really question my sanity (to my face). My mom’s been to a few races and I know they’re boring and usually cold but it means the world that they come. I’ll never forget seeing her at CIM two years ago or seeing my brother at Cowtown the first time I broke 2:00 for a half.

I’m thankful for iPods to keep me entertained on solo runs. This year I’m particularly thankful for Lady Gaga, Kanye, Michael Franti, Miley Cyrus, Pink and Kelly Clarkson for motivating me through countless tempo runs and intervals. And I’m thankful to Josh Radin, Dashboard Confessional, Death Cab for Cutie and Matt Nathanson for giving me the soundtrack to my daydreams on recovery runs.

Finally, I’m thankful to live in a city that loves its runners. There are so many great trails, parks and levees for running that are relatively safe and I love them all. Plus, the races around here are top-notch, draw a lot of quality runners and a ton of fun.


7 responses to “Thanksgiving

  1. Awesome post! I too am thankful for running and all the things that allow me to run! Have a happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Hope your cooking for the family goes well!

  3. And I am thankful I found your blog! Happy Thanksgiving!!!

  4. Great post. You summed it all up nicely.
    I wish I lived in Sac now, it sounds like the perfect town for running 😦

    Oh well, I have monster mountian hills now. I guess I’ll have a nice ass if nothing else, so I should be thankful for that … but I’m just bitter instead.

  5. Great post!

    I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how thankful I am for a healthy body that allows me to run and race.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  6. awesome, awesome list girl.

    i am SO SO SO thankful that we have met and become friends this year. seriously, i dont know what i would do without you sometimes!!

  7. great list of things! definitely all worth appreciating and not always whining about (ie daniels’ running formula, lol) 🙂

    hope you had a good thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

