A Solid Weekend in Running

I’ve had a solid couple of weeks running. It’s nice ot be back in a training groove even though I’m really not training for anything specific. And that’s fine– I always enjoy training hard more than actually racing and when I do decide to sign up for something all this training will matter.

Thursday I went out for one of my favorite workouts– 2 miles warm up, 5 miles alternating one minute hard and one minute easy, 2 miles cool down. I love this workout. It’s hard enough to feel like you’re doing something but not so hard that you feel sore or tired after. I ran a really familiar route and was pleased that I didn’t slow down toward the end. I can definitely tell that my fitness is coming back. Finally!

Friday I shuffled around easy. Like I’ve said a million times, if I’m going to do 2 speed sessions and a long run each week, I have to shuffle in between…

Saturday I had a fabulous long run. I met some friends and we ran 16 solid miles on the bike trail. We finished with an 8:44 average and I only felt terrible in the last 1.5 miles and that’s only because there were gross hills. Ok, small ones, but still hils. It felt good to go on a real long run again and even better that it was such a strong pace that never felt terrible– I could talk the whole time and in full sentences so I don’t feel like I went too hard.

I finished up the week with 52 miles which is really not bad all things considered. One interesting thing… as you all know, I weigh myself at least once a week to make sure I’m not ballooning up and since I’ve been back running regularly, I’ve gained 3 pounds! I think I’m probably subconsciously over eating because I think I’ve “earned” the extra calories but all that to say… I’m getting back on the portion control bandwagon. Except for my post-long run breakfast bagel because that’s just yummy.

This week should be more solid running. I have some speed sessions I’m dreading, but that which does not kill me, only makes me stronger.

5 responses to “A Solid Weekend in Running

  1. yay another solid week!! nice job on the all the runs girlie 🙂

  2. I am the same way after a run….I feel like I can eat anything because I just ran 10 miles. Needless to say weight loss is not happening in my house.

  3. Good for you for being so structured without a race!

  4. sounds like a great week!

  5. Great job on a great week, especially that long run! 8:44, speeeeeeeeeeddddyyyyyyy!!!!

Leave a Reply

