Sleep Running…

My schedule has taken a turn for the insane lately and in order to fit my runs in, I need to be done by about 6:00 AM. Luckily, I have a group of equally nutty friends who meet each morning to get in some nice, early miles. This morning I met my ladies at 4:45 AM. Yes, you heard me right. I got up at 4:15 to go and do an 8-mile tempo run. And you know what? It was kind of fun.

For some reason I have an easier time getting up in the 4 or 5 AM hour than I do in the 6 AM hour. I don’t know if it’s because my body still thinks it’s night time or what, but it’s just easier. I drank some coffee, put on my clothes (word to the wise: lay everything out and have that coffee premade) and was out the door by 4:30. It was extremely foggy here in Sacramento so I was actually a little nervous driving over, but it worked out ok. Also, my roommate is on a surgical rotation so she was actually up which helped tremendously.

A group of 10 of us headed to the bike trail and ran 2 miles warm up, 4 of tempo and 2 cool down. To be clear, I would not have gotten up so early or done this on my own. But knowing my friends were waiting for me and the promise of Peets coffee afterward was too compelling to miss. The run went fine. I was a little tired and my legs did NOT want to run fast, but I talked them in to it and they did fine. My tummy was really upset afterward but it behaved during the run so that’s all that matters.

I figure that during this season of craziness that I’m pretty sure is going to last 6-8 months I have a choice to make: get my lazy ass out of bed at 4am or not run at all. I’m sure there are days that it’s going to be horrible. I’m not sure I’ll be able to sustain 6 days per week. In fact, I think most days rolling out of bed will be a struggle but at the end of the day, being able to get some runs in with friends and alone gives me sanity and space and a place to breathe. I honestly believe that traipsing through the fog at o’dark thirty is better for my sanity and more beneficial than that hour of sleep.

I feel a little out of it this morning but I am sure I’ll get used to it. The only issue is that I was ready to eat lunch by 9am! I’m sure with some adjusting I’ll be ok there, too.

We’ll see how Round 2 goes tomorrow. It’s at a far more reasonable hour- 5:00 AM. HA!

11 responses to “Sleep Running…

  1. i LOVE having people to meet at those EARLY hours… it makes me get out of bed and its so nice to have company out there – very less scary. GREAT job out there today!

    can you see on your bike trail? our trails are PITCH BLACK and you cannot run on them until there is light out 😦 sad.

  2. I love early morning run meet-ups with friends!!!! I would NEVER get up that early otherwise. Great tempo run!

    P.S. yeah, no, no booty-short wearing for me…no one wants to see that. 🙂 But you definitely CAN wear them so go on with your bad self!

  3. I am always wide awake at 4am and think I should just get up and run. I used to do that but in winter I am just a weenie in the dark cold. I need to be tougher. Having friends to pull ya out certainly helps. Nice job :)!!

  4. Friends don’t let friends run at 4am…unless they are runner friends then it’s highly encouraged =)

    Come to think of it, your 4am is my 7am…you can be my alarm clock ’cause that’s when I get up =)

  5. I can get up that early, but falling asleep early enough the night before is such a challenge. It’s definitely better than not running at all, so keep it up!

  6. Good for you for getting out there at that time. 5am is the earliest I tend to go but if I had someone else to run with I might be tempted. Also if there was Peet’s coffee… Hmmm. I find that later on the training program these early runs mean I’m in bed by 8.. But if you can do that then go for it. And yes – lunch WILL be early.

  7. You’re awesome. That is SO EARLY! I will have to start my runs around 5:00-5:30 this summer when it gets HOT out, but for now I’m happy with my 7:00 AM run starts 🙂

  8. Kudos to you! You are a rockstar to do that. I wish I could get myself out of bed that early to run. You are lucky to have people there to motivate you!

  9. You are crazy girly! But I like your style 😉
    I had my alarm all set for 4 yesterday and just had to turn it off – one of these days I will make it! I actually ran at lunch today – had to go home, run, shower and come back, but like you, until the crazy schedule is done that is what I will have to do!
    I need me some crazies to run with, too!

  10. 4AM?!?!? That is absolutely crazy!! I am a night owl and could never get up early to run on a regular basis. The few times I have woken up early (if you call 6AM early), I have had the same problem with being ready for lunch at 10:00. It takes a lot of snacks to get me through the day.

    Good luck with your training!!!

  11. i thought i was the only one!! my alarm goes off at 3:52am (so i can hit snooze once haha) so i can get in a short morning run. i’ve been squeezing them in after work but it really sucks coming home from work, rushing to run for an hour+ and then eating a quick/late dinner and going right to bed. no time to just chill after work 😦 anyway so i’ve been working on getting up early to get it out of the way in the morning. i am jealous you have people to meet up with! i will think of you as i head out on my early morning runs – it will help knowing you are doing it too. well, a few hours later, but still in your early morning time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

