Food Friday

A lonnnng time ago I started blogging weekly about delicious recipes I’d found that would satisfy a runner appetite and nutritional needs. I actually love to cook and prefer to eat at home than out. Most of the time. Fridays are an exception to the rule. Anyway, this week I’m featuring my  new obsession: whole wheat couscous.

I really like rice, but to be honest, I don’t usually get home until after 7 and I am just not going to wait 40 mins for brown rice to cook. I know you can make it beforehand and I know it refrigerates well, but for whatever reason, it doesn’t appeal to me. I’ve also gotten really sick of pasta and bread irritates my stomach, so… for carbs… I’ve been looking at other options. Enter whole wheat couscous. I bought a box of it a long time ago and its just been sitting in my cupboard dying to be eaten. The problem is that I didn’t know what to do with it. After much googling I figured I’d wing it and wow, there was some awesomeness. I’m sorry I didn’t photograph it, but trust me, so good. I really love mediterranean flavors, so this recipe (I adapted it from several others) seemed ideal.

Ingredients:
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
pinch of kosher salt
pinch of oregano
minced garlic

1 cup whole wheat cous cous
cucumber
handful of cherry tomatoes halved
About 1 tbs aged balsamic vinegar
About 2 tbs good olive oil
pinch of kosher salt
feta cheese

take the boneless skinless chicken breasts and season with a pinch of salt and pepper, ground oregano and minced garlic. Bake in a 350 oven for roughly 40 minutes

Now, roughly chop your cucumber and half your cherry tomatoes. Let them marinate in a mixture of olive oil and aged balsamic vinegar (regular would work too but it’s not as yummy) while the chicken cooks. I use a 2/1 ratio of oil to vinegar but use your taste buds and adjust as necessary. Also, add a pinch of kosher salt and a little more pepper if you’re inclined.

When you have about 10 minutes left cook up your couscous per the package directions and combine it with your marinated veggies. I sometimes add a bit more olive oil here if it seems dry. Finally, chop up your cooked chicken and add it with your feta. Let it sit for a few minutes so the flavors combine and enjoy!

It was amazing for dinner and even better for lunch the next day.


7 responses to “Food Friday

  1. i can also vouch for this recipe because i made it this week from you telling me 🙂 YUM. i have had cous cous sitting in my cabinets forever too… finally i know something to do with it!

    although i made 2 cups, because really i had no idea what was a good size for chris and i (we are big eaters) and that was WAY too much haha.

  2. That sounds delicious! YUM!

  3. I love couscous, now I need to find the whole wheat kind …
    Sounds good!
    you know trader joes has organic brown rice in little bowls that you microwave. I know it’s not as good as parboiled, but it works in a pinch and there’s no perservatives etc.

  4. It sounds very good – even though I have no idea what couscous tastes like :). I may have to try it now just to see!

  5. Can’t comment on food ’cause I’m not a good cook! Just wanted to say that your tweet about me drunk twittering on barefoot running was hilarious! Of course, I could only appreciate it after the fact. Haha!

  6. If you like cous cous- you gotta try quinoa! I think they are very similar but quinoa is a complete protein and sooo good for you!

  7. I also love whole wheat couscous and I swear I’ve made almost that exact meal, probably without cucumbers.

Leave a Reply

