And then, she loved running again

I had another spectacular workout this morning. It was one of those rare workouts where my legs felt amazing– fast, light and ready to go from start to finish. First of all, the weather is absolutely perfect right now. Cold, sunny and beautiful. The daffodils and tulips have popped up, the birds are singing, the grass is green, the sky is blue and it’s simply gorgeous out. I love spring.

Anyway, this morning called for 2 miles of warm up, mile strides, 2 miles at 5k pace then 4×400 as hard as you can, 2.5 miles cool down. I’ve never done this particular workout before and so I was a little apprehensive since 2 miles hard followed by 400s seemed like grounds for puking. I warmed up, did my strides (aren’t you proud? I hate those things) and told myself, go!

I completed the 2 miles at 7:40 pace and then experimented with 400s. And guys? I ran the fastest 400s of my life. 1:38s. Now, compared to some that’s not speedy. But it is 6 seconds/lap faster than last week and 4 seconds faster than ever before. And although I was right and there was some dry heaving after the final lap, it was super satisfying. I can finally push myself to that “oh my gosh I’m flying and maybe going to puke but this is so fun but omg I’m going to puke” place.

After CIM I think I was more burned out physically and mentally than I realized. I just didn’t have the drive to push myself to the point of dry heaving anymore and I simply wasn’t interested in getting faster. After a couple of months of fighting with injuries and then fighting my way back to fighting weight I am finally starting to see the rewards. And it feels great.

As I’ve progressed I’m realizing that I now have to measure PRs in seconds, not minutes. My days of chopping off whole minutes from PRs are long gone but improvement  is so much sweeter now because I have to fight that much harder for it. And now that I have a little more experience I know that improvement is not linear. You break through, plateau, work your ass off, break through, plateau, work hard… repeat.

And I’m having fun with running again. I’ve realized that no one other than me and maybe my coach cares if I PR and there really is no pressure to constantly be faster. Yes, I want to improve and yes, that will probably happen soon but at the end of the day, why do I run? I run to enjoy those daffodils and tulips and perfect blue sky, to know the feeling of my heart burning in my chest as I’ve completed the fastest 400 in my life and for the joy of being alive, healthy and moving. Running is my privilege and not a burden. And I love it.

7 responses to “And then, she loved running again

  1. Whoo hoo! Speedy McSpeedy legs! Great job on the 400’s. Glad you’re back in love with running, she missed you 🙂

  2. That’s an incredible workout and it’s all paying off for you! I, too, haven’t wanted to fight hard after I did Tucson last Dec and when I got sick last month, I put on 5 lbs, which is soooo frustrating. As an older runner, I cannot get my PR’s more than a few seconds here and there since I’ve ran for eternity…sometimes I wonder why it’s worth the fight….but doesn’t it feel so good when it all comes together and happens??!! Thanks for a great post, it has really made me want to push that much harder to Boston! 🙂

  3. Running is definitely a privilege. Glad you love it again.

  4. Yay! I love the spirit and running love in this post. Great job on your run!!!!!!

    We are blessed our legs can carry us. 🙂

  5. atalantasapples

    I love those moments when everything comes together — sometimes they can be much too few and far between. Congratulations on your 400 PR!

  6. I love your posts like this, they are so motivational and inspirational 🙂

  7. I can finally push myself to that “oh my gosh I’m flying and maybe going to puke but this is so fun but omg I’m going to puke” place.

    I love that sentence! Love it! I’m going to start introducing you as the girl who has fun, loves running, and “goes to puke”…yeah, real sexy! Love it!

    On the other hand, I don’t do 400s so I have no idea what I’m talking about…haha!

    Run strong, girl! And sign up for a race soon so you can show off some of that speediness!

Leave a Reply

