Encourage Other Runners!

Recently I’ve been the recipient of a ton of verbal encouragement from my fellow runners. Like I’ve mentioned I do my tempo, track (sometimes) and long runs with a group of other people which is both fun and a challenge. More fun than challenge. Anyway… the people I run with are running rock stars. Really great.

We have a habit when we’re passing one another or crossing on an out and back to verbally encourage one another. Small things like “great job! keep it up! your legs look good!” These kinds of statements really, really help when you’re struggling through a tough set or long tempo. On long runs we have a pact to cheer at every mile marker. It’s cheesy but it’s actually kind of fun. And forcing myself to smile, cheer or talk is a good way of relaxing my body while running.

This morning after 10 (!) miles of sleep running one of my friends pulled me aside and basically told me that he had noticed I’d been putting in a ton of quality work, pushing myself and starting to really get fast and look like a great runner. Now, this isn’t to toot my own horn. Yes, I’m improving but trust me, I have work to do before I’m where I want to be. But I can’t tell you how affirming and helpful his words were.

All of us, no matter if we’re front, middle or back of the packers have runners that are slower than we are. Whether you know it or not, these slower runners look up to you. Actually, it’s not even about speed. Because there are runners with race times slower than mine that I admire (especially the 80! year old who can run a 24 min 5k). Basically, there are runners all around you who look up to you. I want to encourage each of you to take the time to pull those runners aside and tell them something positive about their running. Because you never know when you’re going to help or when someone is bummed out about their training and needs to hear what you have to say.

So:

Aron: Girl, I don’t even need to say much but I really admire the way you’re pushing yourself at the track lately. You’ve taken on a new challenge with gusto and it’s so going to pay off.
Lam: LOVE the way you attacked that 5k this weekend. You embraced the suffer and showed that course who’s boss.
Lindsay: SO glad to know that there’s someone else out there sleep running and getting it done. I admire your commitment to our sport even though you have an insane schedule!
Maritza: I love that you’re back out there girl. You’re totally speeding up and you don’t even know it!

And to all the rest of you– you’re doing a great job out there getting it done. Keep at it. It’ll pay off!

7 responses to “Encourage Other Runners!

  1. You’re absolutely right. It really works and helps. Thanks for reminding me..

  2. That is awesome! I always love the words of encouragement too! It sounds like you deserve it 🙂

  3. Aww what a nice thing your friend said to you!! I can’t wait to start running with people more often this summer. Runner friends are the best!

  4. awwwww ❤ its all because of YOU too! i saw what you were doing, and i am like i can do that too! so THANK YOU! you are doing amazing out there, your dedication and work ethic is incredible.

  5. Wonderful little post. In New York, I get a lot of random people on the street who cheer me one (“keep it up girl” or “just one more hill”). Random, but I like it. Great job to you, to, by the way! You have been awesome lately!

  6. thanks for the shout out and support! you have been an inspirator/motivator to me too – i can pull myself out of bed knowing you are doing it to!

  7. You have just totally made my day! Thank you so much for encouraging me, I truly appreciate it, especially coming from such a speedy runner as yourself! I think I was in a race funk from comparing myself to others but this (and your other post, which I will also comment on shortly) really make me re-focus on the fact that running is for ME.

    Thank you so so much again! Seriously, you made my day!

Leave a Reply

