6 Month Check In

I can’t believe it’s June 1st. This year is flying by like I can’t believe. Seriously, I feel like it was just New Years and I was just recovering from CIM. I didn’t write down any concrete goals for myself at the beginning of the year but I did have a few things. So how am I doing?

1. Have fun and put less pressure on my running. I have definitely done this. Although I’m training hard as ever (actually, given my schedule, probably harder) I’m not chasing a particular goal or time or putting all my eggs in one basket. I’m just enjoying the fact that I’m able to train. Some days I feel unfocused but I do have a schedule and I am sticking to it, so it’s not bad.

2. PR in the half marathon. Nope. I tried once with disastrous result and other races keep slipping out from under me. It’s fine though, I’ll get there.

3. Run with people who push me. Check, check and check. I have loved running with other people who push me. I’ve been able to complete workouts and long runs that I would have skipped or done much slower on my own. It’s also made me value the runs I do alone– and I’ve found I truly like a mix of both.

4. Lose the last 5 lbs I need to be at optimal racing weight. Check and then uncheck. Giving up sweets at lent lightened me up big time but then I ate them again! It’s fine though, I’m not that stressed.

5. Add strength and core work. Yep! I’ve been going to yoga 2-3 times per week and it has totally kept my injuries under control. LOVE it!

I should make some mid year goals. Some things have changed for me in the last few months and in light of that, I should do some revising. Maybe I will. Stay tuned!

I had a good weekend of running. Saturday I ran 9 miles with friends followed by a delicious, fun brunch and Sunday I ran 10 miles just because. Both were in the 8:50 range and both felt good. I kept my runs easy yesterday and today and also went to yoga a few times. I’ve been eating terribly (cookies and wine for dinner last night, oops) so I’m trying to get back on track there. My body is definitely crying for some real food!

6 responses to “6 Month Check In

  1. Haha, it’s not technically 6 months until July 1st, lol. Having mid year check-ins and goals though is seriously a good idea! I need to do that actually. Thanks for the reminder šŸ™‚ And I have decided that “those last five pounds” are not worth giving up all treats and fighting with myself. I’m okay with it too at this point.

  2. Overall, I think you’ve done pretty well for yourself! I’m amazed you’re able to train without a real goal race in mind…or maybe you have one and you’re just not telling us! Hmmm…

    It’s okay. I know your half mary PR will come. You’re just waiting for the right time =P

  3. I think you’re having a great year! I think next year will be my year of no pressure, I’m actually looking forward to it šŸ™‚
    It’s funny how once you start eating healthy how hard it is to go back – your body ends up craving the good stuff!

  4. You’re having a great year, and the best part is that you appear to be happy and that’s all that really matters….the rest of your goals will come, no doubt!!

  5. check and uncheck šŸ™‚ i have done that with many things in my life!

    glad all is going well so far this year overall. i get soo bogged down when i am ‘just training’ with no race on the horizon. but then again, i get worked up sometimes with an upcoming race too… i can’t win.

  6. I’ve been bad with the sweets too. It’s ok to not be at racing weight when you don’t have a goal race, right? šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

