Excuse me young lady, how many miles per day do you run?

Yes, I got asked by a complete stranger, completely unprompted, “excuse me young lady, how many miles per day do you run?” Apparently “you wouldn’t look like that if you weren’t a runner.” Cracked me up. I didn’t really know what to say so I just mumbled, “uh a few?” I mean, I like that I look like a runner as opposed to say, a couch potato, but I mean, what does a person say? “My giant calves and I thank you?” No. Anyway, hilarious.

This week’s running has been totally random. I was in San Diego on Monday and ran in my friend’s neighborhood. Holy hills batman. There was not a single flat stretch of road so I cut my run after 6 miles as not to totally disintegrate. I was surprisingly spry up some of them but there was a .75 hill that brought me to my knees. Yikes!

Wednesday I was in Bakersfield and was able to get in 9 miles. I ran the first 4 outside and then ran 5 on the treadmill. For the first time in my entire life I actually felt good and didn’t mind running on the treamill. I was clicking along at a steady 8:20 pace, enjoying my music and the time flew by. Normally on the treadmill I get bored after a mile or two. Or .5. But this time, I felt ok. But running inside=lots of sweating. But since it was 85 degrees at 5:30 in the morning, the treadmill was actually the lesser of the sweaty options. Ew.

This morning I ran with Team 4:45 and completed 8 miles at what would be goal marathon pace for me. I felt pretty good the whole time and enjoye the time with friends. Sadly, we have returned to headlamps since the days are getting shorter, boo!

Finally, I put together a marathon schedule for a friend last night which was super fun! I really enjoyed putting together all my random knowledge of training schedules, paces, long runs, etc into a fancy spreadsheet sent to me by Aron. The email sent along with the spreadsheet ended up a novel… with several follow ups. I’m just so excited to watch someone tackle a marathon for the first time. So many of the emotions are familiar– I’m scared, this schedule looks insane, I can’t do it… but oh yes, yes he can. Somehow it makes all the hours I’ve spent learning about hte marathon (and trust me, I have much more to learn grasshopper) seem worth it. Like it wasn’t just personal development but also an opportunity to pay forward all the great advice and counsel I’ve been given.

I love it! Fall is in the air which means fall marathons are coming soon! Get it people! Get it! And finally, a photo of me finishing the trail race πŸ™‚

// <![CDATA[
loadWatermark(‘my-overlay’);
for (var i=0; i

// <![CDATA[
for (var i=0; i
//

4 responses to “Excuse me young lady, how many miles per day do you run?

  1. yay first time marathoners!! yay looking like a runner!! yay trail races!!

    watch out cheerleader mode from 17 cups of coffee this morning πŸ™‚

  2. People never cease to amaze me!
    Love the pics!!!

  3. You do look like a runner!

  4. Looking great and WELL DONE for paying it forward – that’s just great!

Leave a Reply

