Phew!

What. A. Week.

This has been one of my busiest weeks ever (which is saying something since my life is nuts) and somehow I managed to run 60 miles… kind of unintentionally actually. Well, I wasn’t unaware of what I was doing but I also didn’t have a 60 mile goal or anything . I was just stressed out and felt bad about all the weird food I was eating.

Tuesday was 800s at the track. This is a benchmark workout for me because I’ve done it so many times and I was very pleasantly surprised. I had 6×800 on the schedule and have been kind of a track slacker lately. Shockingly all my repeats were 3:38-3:40 and it really wasn’t hard. It wasn’t easy, but I’ve pushed myself much harder. Not my fastest but certainly not my slowest.

I kicked Thursday off with a really good tempo run with Team 4:45. It was the strongest I’ve felt mentally and physically for a long time and the 8 miles just flew by. It’s starting to get darker so the head lamps are back on but it was still nice and cool and a really good time. And everyone noticed I did a good job and I loved the positive reinforcement 🙂

On Thursday I flew to LA, had meetings, waited out traffic and then drove to San Diego for more meetings. Because I love the ocean I sacrificed quality for location and stayed at a hotel on Mission Bay/Mission Beach so that I could run on the water in the morning. I had a perfectly lovely 7-mile run partially around the bay and partially along the ocean. This particular beach is my “happy place.” We’ve spent some really fun family vacations here and I try to make a point to get a run in while I’m in town. So I was glad it worked out. I took some iphone photos but they’re terrible so I’ll spare you. The bottom line is that San Diego is fabulous.

Friday night was spent staying up way too late and drinking one too many glasses of wine (it’s not my fault, I swear- the server had a heavy hand and so three was probably more like 5 but I didn’t realize…). Despite going to bed at 2am I woke up ready to go at 6. I hate that. So, I pushed myself out of bed and went for a run along the embarcadero in San Diego. Now, I’ve run with a hangover more than once and I have a few thoughts on this- the first is that you really do sweat out the bad stuff. The second is that I always run really, really well when I feel sick. I don’t know if I run hard because I feel like I’m doing penance or there’s something going on physiologically but I started fairly slow and got faster every mile with the 7th mile at 10k pace. Without trying or meaning to. I have no idea why. WEIRD. The run was beautiful and I’m glad I went.

I flew home Saturday night and got my long run in this morning. It was perfectly pleasant though I was tired and I finished with a really nice 9:02 pace. It was slow enough that I wasn’t working hard but fast enough that it wasn’t depressing. Kind of a non event but I’m glad I got 13 in.

I looked at my training log and realized that I haven’t taken a day off of running in three weeks so I will not be running tomorrow. I want to, but I won’t. I’m not sore but I can tell my legs are a bit beat up and my IT bands are a bit tight.

I’m looking forward to some fun races coming up. A 5k this weekend, a half marathon in October and I’m sure I’ll find something to do in September. If I’m going to be running 60 miles per week and doing track and tempo runs you better believe I’m going to put all that time to good use!

All in all, one of the best training weeks I’ve had in a long time.

4 responses to “Phew!

  1. Nice way to slip the 60miles in!

  2. GREAT training week! Hope you enjoyed your rest day.

  3. phew is right, your schedule always makes me tired just reading about it. nice job 🙂

  4. It’s my curse to wake up at 6 after going to bed at 2. I also like to sweat out a hangover.

Leave a Reply

