I don’t want to, I don’t have to… not going to

That was the theme of my “long” run this morning. I didn’t have a particular distance or route in mind so I just decided to play it by ear. The result? 11.5 miles that were just so so! It should have been a great run. I’ve been eating well (finally), I’m decently rested, the weather is gorgeous… but it just wasn’t.

I was kind of aiming for 13+ but when I ended up at my house this morning I thought to myself, “I don’t want to go further, I don’t have to… so I’m not going to.” Instead I spent 3.5 hours clearing the overgrown junk out of my backyard folled by an hour of reading trashy magazines in my tidy yard šŸ™‚

I was kind of due for a down week so I think I ended up at 40 miles this week. It’s not tons but I felt lethargic and tired all week and my legs just hurt. Sore IT band, tired legs… so I took it easyish. Which was nice. I definitely haven’t been very single-minded or running focused lately (I can’t even tell you the last time I ran so hard I felt exhausted/nauseated) but I’ve been enjoying myself so that’s fine, too.

I was on the road for work again this week and found myself in Bakersfield on Tuesday morning. Now, for those of you not from California, Bakersfield is not pretty and the temp hovers between the temp of the surface of the sun and hell. I’m not kidding. It was 90 degrees at 5:35 am. And my run was seriously one of the ugliest, most boring runs of my life. I don’t know why I chose to share that but take from it what you will. Yuck.

This week I’m planning on working hard and getting my runs in. I want to hit 55 miles and I want to run VERY long. That said, it’s Labor Day weekend and if Yosemite calls again, I’m going! šŸ™‚

Also, I have some product reviews I owe you including Yurbuds and the Garmin 110. But I want to do them justice so hang tight!

6 responses to “I don’t want to, I don’t have to… not going to

  1. Your down week is like peak week of marathon training for many people. Ha! No sweat, Amy! I know you’ll be awesome when you need to be. Have fun on your travels!

  2. Hahaha! I’m laughing because I can totally relate. Sometimes, even when you have everything going for you for a great run – it can still go just so-so. Have a good week – the temps should be MUCH better this week!

  3. You are not alone in your ‘not gonna do anymore’ attitude. I think the heat has a lot to do with it. At least you have a tidy yard!

  4. good job listening to the internal voice šŸ™‚ you dont have to so no point if you dont want to! i loved that about this summer!

  5. yeah i’m with lam. you’re nuts for whining about a 40mi ‘down week’! šŸ˜‰ always better to listen to your body on days like this, and think of how productive you were around the house instead, yippi… house work šŸ™‚

  6. Oooh you got the Yurbuds too!
    Good thing to take it a little easier if you’re feeling rundown. Unfortunately I know what 90* at 5:30 AM feels like. Yuck!

Leave a Reply

