Pulling the Plug

As I’m sure everyone can tell (all 2 of you who are still reading…) my life has totally spiraled out of control. In 3 weeks I get my life back, but for now, things are insane. Like, I can barely find time to eat or use the restroom. I can still run (and 6 days a week I am) but really I work, run and sleep. Sometimes.

Initially I thought I could make CIM work and I thought I wanted to. And really, if I really wanted to, I could. But to be honest? I don’t want to. So I’m pulling the plug. Since Cowtown I’ve been dealing with some nagging injuries (none of it serious but I can’t really do speed work) and some serious motivation issues. I think in our lives we only have the capacity and energy for so much discipline and right now, other things are taking that energy.

For me, running a marathon isn’t about running 26.2 miles. If I had to, I could probably do that tomorrow. To me it’s about putting your heart and soul into a training program that will allow you to be the best runner you can be at the start of the marathon. I don’t want to run it just to run it. I’ve run CIM twice and while I absolutely love it, if I cant respect the distance and give it everything I’ve got, I’m not going to waste my time, energy and money.

The thought of running 20 miles this weekend makes me want to cry. I’d have to get up at 4:45 AM and honestly I don’t have time to recover and be spacey after (like I tend to be after super long runs). Plus, during the week I’m not eating as well as I should be and I’m definitely not sleeping as much as I’d need to in order to properly recover from training paces.

I’m totally at peace with my decision. There’s always next year or next Spring or the year after that. It’s not like I’m hanging up my running shoes… I’m just taking the pressure of a big run out of the equation right now. Do I think I’m a super human badass? Yeah, I do. Am I? No.

In the meantimes, for the next few weeks if I’m a bit quiet, forgive me. I’ll be back soon šŸ™‚

9 responses to “Pulling the Plug

  1. perfectly said and you know i agree and support you 100% šŸ™‚ cant wait for 3 weeks when i can actually see you again!

  2. Good for you for making the right decision for you and your body. It sounds like you have enough stress happening in your life right now, no need to add the stress of a marathon – like you said, there’s always next year! It amazes me that you can still fit in 6 days of running when your life is as busy as it is!

  3. You are in a race right now that is a very long marathon–it just isn’t measured by miles or hours…For you to finish that race well, you have to make hard decisions–and that is what makes you the winner you are! Very proud of you!

  4. hey 4 people! you were wrong šŸ˜‰

    this is a wise decision – it is not good to push yourself over the edge when life is hectic with work or something. i flirted with the cliff a bit earlier this year and my running suffered big time for months after. i am with you – i don’t want to “just” run a marathon anymore! let’s make them count!

  5. Good idea. I tell people “If you don’t have time to train for a marathon, then DON’T train for a marathon!”

  6. Sounds like an extremely well though through and sensible decision. There is MUCH more to it than racking up races and our priorities cannot always be on them.. Keep running, stay sane and keep us posted. Rest up though!

  7. I can totally realte to this, I just pulled the plug on Long Beach this weekend because my heart was NOT in it! It takes a smart runner to be able to do that and you showed that. You’ll have plenty of opportunities coming up to race! Until then, enjoy the time you have! Just three weeks lady!

  8. I think this is a really good decision. there is no point in running a marathon just to run a marathon if you don’t want to or aren’t into it—especially when you’ve already done it!

  9. I agree with everyone that you are doing the right thing. But I will still miss reading your wonderful blog posts šŸ™‚

    Take care of yourself and come back soon!!

Leave a Reply

