Work to do

After a botched atempt at a 5k on Thanksgiving and a couple of rough-ish long runs I have come to the conclusion that I have a LOT of work to do to get myself back in shape. It’s not that I think my body isn’t ready for it, but I think my mind isn’t. I’m just incapable of suffering for the greater good like I used to be.

Last year I was able to hammer out workouts and force myself to do things that are difficult with little problem. I was really mentally tough. For some reason whenever I try to suffer now I just can’t. Or won’t. I don’t really know. And it’s frustrating. I’m not THAT out of shape, really, but I am out of contention for any kind of PR or PR atempt and will be unless I do something about it.

To be honest, I lack the will to want to be better. Which isn’t good! I don’t like feeling a bit slower and I don’t like not working hard but I also keep finding reasons NOT to work harder. And I even have race goals! I want to know where the girl who would hammer through the worst workouts in pouring rain and wind went!

I think the solution is to stop talking about it, accept where I am and, as Nike says so well, just do it. Or in my case, just do it already! I know how to work hard, I know what works for me and what doesn’t, I just need to apply it. It’s not going to get better by whining about being un-fast. And that’s just true!

6 responses to “Work to do

  1. I feel the same exact way. Last year and the first part of this year I was so motivated to train. Heck the past few years I was going to the gym regularly and eating right. Now….not so much. I just spent 3 hours telling myself I am going to the gym, but its doubtful I will go. So I know exactly what you are feeling.

    What stinks is I DID fall WAY out of shape

  2. good post. too often i fall into the category of talking about wanting to do something. you’re totally right that it comes down to: stop talking and just do. so simple yet so hard to do!

    i’ve found that once the idea pops into my head to do a particular workout i need to ACT NOW. especially in the mornings. if i stop to think about what’s ahead of me i start to putz around too much.

  3. It sucks to feel like you have a lot of work to do just to get back in the shape that you WERE in a short time ago. I did months and months of slow running with lots of excuses not to do speedwork again, and then I started doing speedwork and felt better in just a few weeks.

  4. My legs are always ready, it’s my heart and head that seems to get in the way more often than not. Good luck, I KNOW you’ll be back at it in no time 😉

  5. Hi Amy! Sorry you are having such a hard time finding the motivation to train and race. I think you know what you got to do so you just got to do it! We are often our worst critic because we are so scared of falling behind and never returning to the fitness that we thought we had. I know I go through that every now and again. The thing to realize though that running well is more a long term project than a short term goal and it often isn’t as hard to train well as we make it out to be in our heads. Just getting out there is already 50% of the battle.

    I hope you find the strength and confidence to get your head back in the game. You’re a good runner…it will be apparent if you just allow yourself a little room to shine 🙂

  6. I am feeling the same way right now! My body finally feels ready to go, go go, but my brain is making it difficult because I know I am not as fast as I was or if I am capable of busting out higher mileage like I used to. However, the only way to break through the rut is to get out there like you said and Just Do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

