It’s official!

Well, it’s official. I’m running the Eugene Marathon. Santa wrapped up my entry and put it under the tree, so I am totally committed. Yikes…

I was actually in Eugene for 5 days over Christmas and did a ton of running. There is something about that town that makes me run like the wind. I had a couple of really lovely easy runs, did a fartlek workout that went really well and ran 15 miles along the river and Pre’s trail.

I can honestly say it was the best long run I’ve had in a really long time. I ran 15 miles at the pace I ran CIM last year and it felt really easy. In fact, I wanted to run slower but my legs weren’t cooperating. I don’t know if it was al the carbs I ate at Christmas dinner, the fabulous weather or what, but it felt great and was a huge confidence booster. Plus, a good chunk of where I ran will be during the marathon so that’s fun!

It was kind of amazing… It was about 47 degrees and the sun came out for the second half of my run. My favorite running weather. I forgot gu so I grabbed some gummi bears at the gas station and you know what? I think they may have worked better for me than gels. I’m actually going to give it a go again… I felt really springy and sugary after eating them!

This morning I took on mile repeats which might be my least favorite workout in the world but the are really efficient and a good booty buster. The first two went fabulous well and came in at around 7:42. I slowed down a bit on the second two and it the felt really hard but I ended the fourth repeat dry heaving so I think it’s safe to say I pushed myself…

After a few solid weeks of training I can say that it really feels good to be back at it. Running easy was a rut that was safe and easy to stay in, but at the end of the day, it isn’t enough for me. I know I haven’t reached my full potential and I’m excited to have a goal race to shoot for. Now I just need to clean up the eating and I’ll be set to go!

Tomorrow I’ll run easy and Thursday will be more fartleks… Then next week it’s back to really structured, intense training. Monk style!

8 responses to “It’s official!

  1. Yikes for being committed to a marathon but a good yikes! especially after a great 15 miles. that’s a total confidence booster right there

  2. Yay for Eugene! Here’s to a great 2011!

  3. Yay for being official! Sounds like you had some awesome workouts up there…great job!

  4. I’m thinking of running Eugene! I LOVE Oregon!

  5. Whoa Santa, didn’t know he made commitments on other’s behalf! Hope I don’t find out he volunteered me for anything 😉

    That’s an excellent gift though! Glad you had a good Christmas!

  6. So exciting to have a marathon on the schedule! I really want to go to Eugene sometime.

  7. Yay! You’re back in full fledged marathon training again. Eugene too…Wow! So exciting. Can’t wait to follow your training and see how you do! I’m sure you’ll be FABULOUS 🙂

  8. I ran Eugene last year and LOVED it!! what a great gift..

    I was checking the Tall Mom 1,000+++ club and saw your Blog listed with a few months blank.. did you want to record your miles? Did you want to be a part of the club for 2011? Please let me know.

    Aspire to Insire,

    Tall Mom

Leave a Reply

