Food Goals for Marathon Training

Balancing proper fueling/recovery while getting down to racing weight is probably the hardest part of marathon training for me. When you’re running mileage in the 6Os it’s hard not to constantly “reward” yourself with little treats here and there and to eat like a horse. I have a major sweet tooth and I’ve been known to um, snack a bit in the afternoons.

I recently re-read Racing Weight and while it didn’t teach me anything new it was full of good reminders of how to eat properly while training hard. So here’s how I’m going to strive to eat. First, the hard and fast rules…

1. Refined sugar (aka cookies, cake, scone, frozen yogurt, chocolate, vanilla latte, etc] once a week.  Once. It is just too easy for me to go on and on and on with the dessert so once a week is plenty.
2. 3 glasses of wine total per week and never on the weekdays. This is harder than it sounds- a lot of my work bonding is done at happy hours and the like but booze calories are just totally unnecessary.
3. Once per week I’m going to eat whatever I want and not worry about it. At 65 miles per week you can afford a splurge.
4. Drink lots of water and less coffee.
5. Peanut Butter only before or after a long run or before a tough workout.

With those rules in mind I think that my eating will look something like this:

Pre-workout [only if more than 8 miles, a tempo run or long run]
English muffin with PB

Breakfast:
Oatmeal [amount adjusted for miles] with walnuts, fresh fruit and cinnamon or high fiber muffin from Trader Joes with a yogurt

1o:3o AM snack: Greek Yogurt with Kashi cereal

Lunch
Turkey sandwich with avocado and lettuce
Carrot sticks

3PM snack
Wheat thins and cottage cheese

4-5PM Snack
Apple and almonds

Dinner
Whatever I want but it MUST include a whole grain, vegetable and lean protein. No being lazy and eating scrambled eggs all the time…

So that’s my plan. Of course I’ll adjust depending on how I’m feeling but that’s about what I think will work for me.

Also, this little blog is on twitter now, so follow me at @runcommentaries!

One response to “Food Goals for Marathon Training

  1. I really want to get my hands on that book – sounds interesting!!

    I would realllyyy like to lose a few pounds and get to a better racing weight too. I know that means giving up sugary desserts and stuff though, which makes me a bit sad!! I like your rule of one big splurge meal per week though!

Leave a Reply

